
The Quick Read: A home equity line can pay tuition, but the right provider depends on which property secures it, your credit profile, and how much combined leverage you need, so this page explains how to match a program to your file instead of ranking companies. Lendmire is a mortgage broker, not a lender. It shops a network of wholesale HELOC lenders and matches your scenario to the program that fits.
- Investment-property lines through the network top out at 70% combined loan-to-value, with a 700 minimum credit score and a $500,000 maximum line.
- The 90% ceiling exists only on primary residences and second homes, and only at a 720-or-better credit profile.
- At least 75% of the line is drawn at closing, so these lines do not work like a pay-as-you-go tuition account.
- Title must sit with you personally or in a revocable living trust. An LLC cannot hold it.
What Top HELOC Providers Actually Look For
No single company is the best fit for every borrower. The best program for your situation depends on the property, the credit profile, the leverage you need, and how you document income. That is why a broker that sees several wholesale lenders’ guidelines can be more useful than one lender’s product page.
How large a line the equity supports.
An equity line is sized by combined loan-to-value, occupancy, and credit — not by rental coverage. Switch the occupancy or the credit band and the ceiling moves with it.
Investment-property lines require a 700 minimum credit score; second-home lines start at a 640 minimum and primary-residence lines at 600, and the combined-LTV ceiling steps down as the credit band drops on primary-residence and second-home lines and holds on investment-property lines; the line cap steps down on primary-residence lines and holds at every tier on investment-property and second-home lines.
A debt-to-income ratio above 45% requires 680+ credit. Profiles under 640 are limited to single-family homes. At least 75% of the approved line is drawn at closing. Ceilings, floors, and caps update from Lendmire’s centralized guideline source.
Line estimate
Illustrative estimate only — not a quote, Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. The rate is an editable assumption; equity-line pricing is variable through both the draw and repayment periods and never converts to fixed. Occupancy and credit drive the ceiling together: an investment property tops out at 70% combined LTV (minimum credit 700, line cap $500,000); a second home tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 640, line cap $500,000), with the ceiling stepping down as the credit band drops (the cap holds at every tier); a primary residence tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 600), and its $750,000 maximum line is available only at 75% combined LTV or below with a 700-or-better credit profile (720 on the longer-runway program) and a full appraisal. Lines above $500,000 require a full appraisal. Credit, debt-to-income, property type, and full underwriting review all affect the final line.
Here is what separates one program from another:
- Occupancy. A primary home, a second home, and a rental each get different ceilings.
- Credit tier. Higher scores unlock higher combined leverage.
- Line size. Bigger lines come with tighter rules.
- Structure. How long you draw interest-only, and how long repayment runs.
- Property and title. What the home is, and who owns it.
Key Terms Defined
HELOC: A home equity line of credit, a revolving credit line secured by your property. You borrow, repay, and borrow again within a limit.
CLTV: Combined loan-to-value. It adds every loan secured by the property, then divides by the property’s value.
Draw period: The stretch when you can borrow from the line, often with interest-only payments.
Repayment period: The stretch after drawing ends, when payments cover principal and interest until the balance reaches zero.
DSCR: Debt service coverage ratio. It compares a rental’s monthly rent to its monthly obligation, which is principal, interest, taxes, insurance, and any HOA dues (PITIA).
Lien position: Where a loan stands in line for repayment. A first lien is paid before a second lien.
How a Tuition HELOC Works, Step by Step
A HELOC lets you borrow against equity, which is the property’s value minus what you owe on it. The federal consumer agency calls it an open-end line of credit. You can spend up to your limit during the draw period. After that, repayment begins, often over ten or 20 years. Its plain warning: if you cannot repay, you could lose your home.
Here is how underwriting treats a tuition request.
Step 1: The equity test. The lender sets your limit as a percentage of the property’s value, then subtracts what you already owe. The agency’s HELOC booklet walks through that math with an illustrative percentage. The real percentage is the program’s CLTV ceiling, covered below.
Step 2: Credit. Across Lendmire’s network, the minimum credit score is 600 on primary residences, 640 on second homes, and 700 on investment properties. The lender uses a single-bureau score tied to the primary wage earner. The report can be no more than 90 days old at closing.
Step 3: Debt-to-income. The maximum is generally 50%, and 45% for profiles from 600 to 679. A ratio above 45% requires a 680 minimum. The lender reviews your file on the interest-only payment calculated on the maximum draw, not on what you plan to borrow.
Step 4: Valuation. Lines at or below $500,000 ordinarily use an automated valuation with no traditional appraisal. A higher CLTV may require a secondary valuation. Every line above $500,000 needs a full appraisal. You can request one in any case.
Step 5: Draw and repay. You draw, pay interest-only during the draw period, then pay down principal and interest.
Keep in mind that qualification rests on the full line, not on your tuition bill.
Combined Leverage Ceilings by Occupancy
The ceiling you can reach depends first on what the property is. This table shows the network’s program limits, subject to lender guidelines and full file review.
| Property use | Minimum credit | Top CLTV | Maximum line |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary residence | 600 | 90% (720+ only) | $500,000 at 90% CLTV; $750,000 at 75% CLTV, 700+ (720 on the longer-runway program) |
| Second home | 640 | 90% (720+ only) | $500,000 |
| Investment property | 700 | 70% | $500,000 |
Read those numbers carefully. On a primary residence, 90% CLTV applies only at 720+ and only up to $500,000. At 700+, the ceiling is 85% up to $500,000. The 660 and 680 tiers also reach 85% up to $500,000. A 640 profile reaches 80%, while 620 reaches 70% up to $400,000 and 600 reaches 60% up to $400,000.
A primary-residence line above $500,000 requires a score of 700 or better (720 on the 5-year-draw program, introduced next). It caps at 75% CLTV and needs a full appraisal. Second homes follow their own tiers, topping out at 90% at 720+, 85% at 700 and 680, 80% at 660, and 75% at 640. Investment lines are simpler: at 700 or better, the network ceiling is 70% CLTV.
The Two Draw Structures
Lendmire places lines with two wholesale programs, and their structures differ. The 3-year-draw program gives you three years of interest-only draws, then 17 years of fully amortizing repayment. Investment properties run the 5-year structure only.
Three features matter for tuition:
- Most of the line is drawn at closing. At least 75% comes out on day one on both programs. You pay interest on that money immediately, even if the first bill is months away.
- Pricing floats. It moves through both the draw and repayment periods and never converts to a fixed figure. Your payment can move even before repayment begins.
- Later draws have a floor. After closing, the minimum subsequent draw is $1,000 on the 5-year-draw program. The 3-year-draw program does not state a minimum.
That first point is the one parents miss. A semester-by-semester draw plan is the textbook picture of a HELOC. These programs front-load it. If you only need a portion of the money, size the line to what you need.
Plan also for the payment step-up. When the interest-only period ends, amortization begins and each payment includes principal, so it rises. On the 3-year-draw program that happens after three years, and on the 5-year-draw program after five. Your child may still be in school, or just out of it, so plan the repayment years before you borrow.
Where the General Rule Breaks
The general rule says a HELOC is easy to get against home equity. The edge cases are where files actually change.
Rental properties. A HELOC on an investment property is possible, but NerdWallet notes a smaller lender pool and a lower borrowing amount than a primary-home line, with most lenders charging higher rates and fees. Inside the network, that shows up as the 70% ceiling, the 700 score floor, and the $500,000 maximum line.
LLC-owned property. Fee simple or leasehold title must be held by the individual borrower or a revocable living trust. LLCs, corporations, partnerships, and irrevocable, blind, or land trusts cannot hold title. This is the sharpest structural difference from a DSCR loan. A property already deeded to an LLC needs a vesting change, or a DSCR cash-out instead.
Lower credit profiles. The network floor is 600 on primary residences, but sub-640 profiles are limited to single-family residences with a clean 12-month housing history under the 5-year-draw program. That restriction reaches primary residences only, since second homes floor at 640 and investment at 700. The 5-year-draw program also asks for two tradelines seasoned 12 months, or one seasoned 24.
Derogatory history. A bankruptcy needs four years of seasoning from discharge or dismissal on both programs. For foreclosure-type events on a primary residence or second home, one program seasons a foreclosure at seven years and a deed-in-lieu, pre-foreclosure, or short sale at four. The other declines that history regardless of age.
Property type. Single-family, 2-4 units (640 minimum on the 5-year-draw program), PUD, townhome, and condominium, including non-warrantable condos, are eligible. Modular factory-built homes are eligible on the 5-year-draw program only. Manufactured homes, co-ops, condotels, log homes, commercial, mixed-use, and agricultural zoning are not offered.
Exposure. A borrower is limited to three lines. Combined exposure caps at $750,000 on the 5-year-draw program and $2,000,000 on the 3-year-draw program. Anyone with more than 15 financed properties is not eligible. A property listed for sale, or listed within the past 60 days, is ineligible in NC, PA, TN, TX, and WA.
Rental use. Line agreements can restrict renting out the property, so read the terms before pledging a home that tenants live in. Separately, a lender can reduce a line if the home’s value falls, according to the federal HELOC booklet. The same booklet says a sale generally triggers payoff of the whole balance.
Financial Aid: Your Rental Equity Counts
Investors hit a snag here that owner-occupants do not. MEFA, a nonprofit college-finance authority, says real estate other than your primary home must be reported on the federal aid form. That includes rental homes, vacation properties, and separate units rented to non-family members. The primary home is not reported.
Some colleges ask for more. Fastweb reports that a second aid form counts primary-home equity too, often capped at two to three times income, and that about 250 colleges use it. Borrowing against a rental lowers that property’s reported net worth. Cash left in an account is still reportable. Time your draws and filing dates with a financial aid adviser.
HELOC or DSCR Cash-Out? The Investor Decision
A DSCR loan is a first-lien loan underwritten on the property’s rent. A HELOC is a line that can sit behind your first mortgage. They are different tools. The complete DSCR loans guide covers the basics.
Tuition draws on a rental increase debt while the rent stays the same. That cushion shrinks, and floating pricing makes it less predictable. This is analysis, not a program rule. A second lien also complicates any later refinance, because it has to be paid off or worked around. Draws reduce equity available for the next purchase.
A DSCR cash-out refinance is a different structure. Across the network, cash-out on a standard long-term rental tops out around 75% LTV, with about six months of ownership seasoning commonly expected. Many select programs start at 1.00 coverage. A separate select-lender path goes below 1.00 with leverage and terms adjusted. Credit floors begin at 620 in parts of the network, though most programs want around 660, and 700-plus unlocks the strongest leverage. Loan sizes run up to $3,000,000 on standard programs (smaller balances available through select lenders). Reserves vary by lender, leverage, and loan size, commonly around six months of PITIA. LLC-titled properties can use this route, subject to lender program eligibility.
One caution: clearing 1.00 is not positive cash flow. Repairs, vacancy, management, utilities, and capex sit outside the calculation.
Lendmire’s piece Top Asset-Based Cash-Out Refinance Providers to Pay College Tuition covers those routes in more depth.
Who Should Skip a HELOC for Tuition?
Skip it if any of these describe you:
- Your equity is thin, and the lender would draw most of it at closing.
- Your rental is held in an LLC and you do not want to retitle it.
- Your income would not support the interest-only payment on the full line.
- You expect to sell the property while the balance is still open.
- You would be borrowing against a rental whose rent barely covers its current debt.
Prepare before applying: a recent credit report, mortgage statements, proof of property type, and a plan for how much of the line you actually need.
Matching a Line to Your Property
If you are considering a home equity line and want to see how the numbers work, Lendmire can help you compare HELOC options based on the property, the equity available, credit profile, combined leverage, and your goals. Reach the team at 828-256-2183.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a HELOC on a rental property to pay tuition?
Sometimes. Through Lendmire’s network, an investment-property line tops out at 70% CLTV, requires a 700 minimum score, and caps at $500,000. Title must be held personally or in a revocable living trust. All of it is subject to lender guidelines and full file review.
How long can I draw, and when does repayment start?
It depends on the program. One gives a 3-year interest-only draw followed by 17 years of repayment. The other gives 5 years of draws followed by 25 years. Investment lines use the 5-year structure only. Pricing floats throughout and never converts to fixed.
Will a HELOC hurt my financial aid?
It can, depending on the property and the form. Equity in your primary home is not reported on the federal aid form, but rental real estate is. Some colleges count primary-home equity too, often with a cap. Talk to an aid adviser before drawing.
How do I find the right provider?
Start with the property and your credit tier, because those set your ceiling. A broker that shops several wholesale lenders can match your scenario to the program whose limits fit. The best match depends on your property type, credit, leverage need, and documentation.
My rental is owned by an LLC. Can I still borrow against it?
Not with a HELOC from this network, because an LLC cannot hold title. You would need to retitle the property in your own name or a revocable trust. A DSCR cash-out refinance is the usual alternative, subject to lender program eligibility.
About Lendmire
Lendmire (NMLS# 2371349) is a mortgage broker. Home equity lines of credit — on a primary residence, a second home or an investment property — are arranged through wholesale lenders in Lendmire’s 16 full-service states, and every line is underwritten by the lender under its program guidelines. Scotsman Guide named Lendmire a Top Mortgage Workplace in both 2025 and 2026.
Get Started
Ready to find the right loan for you?
See your offer in seconds. No credit pull, no obligation.
Informational only. Not a Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. Program availability and eligibility are subject to lender guidelines, credit approval, property review, and underwriting.
References
1. CFPB: What Is a Home Equity Line of Credit HELOC
2. CFPB HELOC booklet (2014 edition)
3. NerdWallet – HELOC on investment property
4. MEFA
5. Fastweb – home equity and financial aid
This article is part of Lendmire’s HELOC & home equity loan program — full qualification details, guidelines, and scenarios live on the program page.
Related reading: Top Investment Property HELOC Providers Without Your Spouse on the Loan · Top DSCR HELOC Providers for a Down Payment on Your Next Home · Top DSCR HELOC Providers on a Rental Held in an LLC
Brandon Miller
Founder & CEO, Mortgage Loan Originator, Lendmire LLC
- Mortgage Loan Originator · NMLS# 1129696 · Verify on NMLS Consumer Access
- North Carolina Real Estate Broker · License# 343312 · Verify on NCREC
- North Carolina Insurance Producer · License# 19053198 · Property, Casualty, Life, Health · Verify on NAIC SBS
- Lendmire LLC · Firm NMLS# 2371349 · Verify firm licensure
Legal disclosures. Lendmire (NMLS# 2371349) is a state-licensed mortgage brokerage that arranges financing through wholesale lender relationships. Lendmire is not a direct lender, depository institution, or registered financial advisor. The discussion above is general informational content about real estate financing — it is not financial, legal, or tax advice, and readers should consult licensed professionals for guidance on their individual circumstances. Loan inquiries are subject to lender underwriting; this article does not represent a commitment to lend. Loan terms, rates, and qualification standards vary by borrower, property, and state, and are subject to change at any time. Equal Housing Opportunity. NMLS Consumer Access: nmlsconsumeraccess.org.