
The Quick Read: The lender writes the minimum draw into the credit agreement as a product term, so the floor comes from the lender’s line design and not from the borrower’s income paperwork.
- A “minimum draw” can mean three different things: the initial draw, the per-advance minimum, and the minimum outstanding balance.
- “Minimum advance” is the same idea as a per-draw floor on a home equity line.
- On the equity lines Lendmire places, at least 75% of the line is drawn at closing.
- Later draws on the five-year-draw program carry a $1,000 minimum, or $4,000 in Texas.
- Qualifying runs on the interest-only payment at the maximum draw, so drawing less does not shrink the qualifying payment.
Investors run into this floor most often when they want a standby line for repairs or a down payment and discover the product behaves more like a second-lien term loan. This article walks through what the floor is, who sets it, how it flows through underwriting, and where it changes the investor’s math. For clarity: “advance” here means a withdrawal from a home equity line, not the funding stages of a construction or commercial loan.
How large a line the equity supports.
An equity line is sized by combined loan-to-value, occupancy, and credit — not by rental coverage. Switch the occupancy or the credit band and the ceiling moves with it.
Investment-property lines require a 700 minimum credit score; second-home lines start at a 640 minimum and primary-residence lines at 600, and the combined-LTV ceiling steps down as the credit band drops on primary-residence and second-home lines and holds on investment-property lines; the line cap steps down on primary-residence lines and holds at every tier on investment-property and second-home lines.
A debt-to-income ratio above 45% requires 680+ credit. Profiles under 640 are limited to single-family homes. At least 75% of the approved line is drawn at closing. Ceilings, floors, and caps update from Lendmire’s centralized guideline source.
Line estimate
Illustrative estimate only — not a quote, Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. The rate is an editable assumption; equity-line pricing is variable through both the draw and repayment periods and never converts to fixed. Occupancy and credit drive the ceiling together: an investment property tops out at 70% combined LTV (minimum credit 700, line cap $500,000); a second home tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 640, line cap $500,000), with the ceiling stepping down as the credit band drops (the cap holds at every tier); a primary residence tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 600), and its $750,000 maximum line is available only at 75% combined LTV or below with a 700-or-better credit profile (720 on the longer-runway program) and a full appraisal. Lines above $500,000 require a full appraisal. Credit, debt-to-income, property type, and full underwriting review all affect the final line.
Key Terms Defined
Initial draw: The amount, or share of the line, the borrower must take when the line opens.
Per-advance minimum: The smallest withdrawal allowed after the line is open. Some lenders vary it by access method, such as checks, online transfers, wires, or cards.
Minimum outstanding balance: A balance the borrower must keep for some period during the draw period.
Minimum advance amount: Another name for the per-advance minimum.
CLTV: Combined loan-to-value, which counts the first mortgage plus the new line against the property’s value.
Draw period: The stretch of the line when the borrower can withdraw funds, usually with interest-only payments.
The Three Floors That Get Called “Minimum Draw”
The phrase covers three separate terms, and a file can carry all three at once. Mixing them up is a common reason an investor misjudges how a line will work.
| Floor | When it applies | What it means for the investor |
|---|---|---|
| Initial draw | At closing | Cash goes out on day one, used or not |
| Per-advance minimum | Every later withdrawal | Small repair draws may be too small to take |
| Minimum outstanding balance | Through a set period | Paying down early can force a re-draw |
Each floor lives in a different place in the credit agreement. The initial draw usually sits with the opening terms. The per-advance minimum sits with the access and transaction terms. The minimum balance, if one exists, sits with the draw-period terms. Ask for all three in writing before paying for any valuation.
How a Lender Sets the Number
The lender picks the floor when it designs the product. Three inputs drive it.
1. Cost to serve. Every advance costs the lender money to process. A floor keeps tiny withdrawals from eating the margin.
2. Funding model. A lender that wants the line to behave like a funded loan with an earning balance will require more of it drawn up front.
3. Line size and access channel. Larger lines usually carry larger floors. A wire often carries a different floor than a card or an online transfer.
The type of lender matters too. Banks, credit unions, and non-bank lenders each design these terms differently. Across the wholesale network, the pattern is consistent: the floor follows the product, not the borrower’s paperwork. A borrower with spotless documents can still face a required initial draw. A borrower with a thinner file can still find a line without one, because the draw rule and the documentation method are separate questions.
Some lines in the broader market carry no initial-draw minimum at all. That shows the floor is a design choice and not an industry constant.
What the Network Programs Require
Lendmire is a broker. It places standalone equity lines, in first or second lien position, through select wholesale partners in 16 full-service states. Two draw structures exist on primary residences and second homes. One has a three-year interest-only draw with a 17-year repayment. The other has a five-year draw with a 25-year repayment. Investment lines run the five-year structure only. Every figure below is subject to lender guidelines and full file review, and nothing here is a commitment to lend.
| Term | Three-year-draw program | Five-year-draw program |
|---|---|---|
| Closing draw | At least 75% of the line | At least 75% of the line |
| Later draw minimum | Not stated | $1,000 (Texas: $4,000) |
| Draw / repayment | 3 years / 17 years | 5 years / 25 years |
Two points matter here. First, the three-year-draw program does not state a subsequent-draw minimum, so confirm it with the lender before assuming either way. Second, an investment line ceilings out at 70% CLTV, requires a 700 credit profile, and tops out at a $500,000 line. On a primary residence or second home, higher CLTV tiers exist, but they depend on credit tier and occupancy.
Does the Law Set a Minimum Draw?
No. Federal rules do not set a minimum draw size. They only require the lender to disclose whichever floor it chooses. The rule for open-end plans secured by a dwelling, 12 CFR 1026.40, groups the limits on advances with the other required terms. It calls for the lender to state any minimum draw or minimum outstanding balance as a dollar amount or a percentage.
That scope is consumer credit. How those consumer disclosures apply to a business-purpose line on a rental is a different question, so do not assume the same protections attach. Read the agreement itself.
The CFPB’s resource, Ask CFPB’s HELOC explainer, names the same three floors: a minimum each time you borrow, a minimum that must stay outstanding, and an initial amount taken at setup. Its per-draw figure is an illustration, not a standard. Investors sometimes quote it as if it were a rule. It is not.
How the File Treats the Floor, Step by Step
1. The lender sets the terms. The floor is part of the credit agreement, fixed before the borrower applies.
2. The borrower sees the floors at application. Required disclosures put the draw terms next to the repayment terms.
3. Qualifying runs on the maximum draw. Underwriting uses the interest-only payment calculated on the full line. A borrower who plans to draw less is still reviewed as if the line were fully used. Debt-to-income tops out at 50%, with a 45% limit for credit profiles from 600 to 679.
4. The required draw goes out at closing. At least 75% of the line is drawn on both network programs.
5. The draw period begins. Payments are interest-only during the draw period, then the line moves to full amortization. Pricing floats through both periods.
The practical consequence: the floor affects cost and cash flow, but it does not affect how the file is qualified. Qualification looks at the full line.
Where the General Rule Breaks
- A zero initial draw exists elsewhere. Some lenders let the borrower open the line and take nothing. The network programs do not work this way.
- A heavy initial draw on investor products. One BiggerPockets poster described an investor-property line that required drawing 75% of the approved amount at closing. That is one borrower’s account, but it lines up with the network’s 75% minimum.
- State differences on the same program. The per-advance floor jumps to $4,000 in Texas on the five-year-draw program. A Texas primary residence is also a homestead, which carries its own limits, including an 80% combined loan-to-value cap.
- A minimum balance on top of the draw floor. CBS News gives the example of a $5,000 minimum balance held through the first two years of the draw period, and notes that repaying early can force a re-draw to keep the balance up. Ask whether the line you are considering carries one.
- Title. Individuals and revocable living trusts can hold title on these lines. An LLC cannot. A property already deeded to an LLC needs a vesting change or a different structure.
- Property types. Manufactured homes, co-ops, condotels, log homes, and mixed-use properties are not eligible.
What the Floor Does to an Investor’s Math
Picture an investor who wants a standby line for a rehab and expects to pull funds in stages. With a 75% closing draw, most of the line goes out on day one. Interest runs on money that has not yet reached a contractor. The line behaves like a second-lien term loan with a small revolving sliver.
Now picture an investor who needs repair funds in small amounts. A $1,000 floor on later draws is low enough for most repair invoices. In Texas, the $4,000 floor means small repairs would have to be bundled. That changes how the investor schedules work.
Consider a third case, an investor who plans to pay the line down early. If the agreement carries a minimum outstanding balance, a large paydown can trigger a re-draw. Early payoff is not always free.
In all three cases, the line does not touch rental income. Approval looks at personal credit and debt-to-income, not at what the property rents for. That is the sharpest contrast with a DSCR loan, where rent against the housing payment is the test. Investors weighing the two can start with the complete DSCR loans guide.
Investors comparing several lenders’ draw terms side by side can also read Lendmire’s piece Investment Property HELOC for Investors Comparing Lender Draw Terms.
How to Find the Floors in Your Documents
Before paying for a valuation, pull these items from the disclosure and the credit agreement:
- The initial draw, stated as a dollar amount or a percentage of the line.
- The minimum for each later advance, and whether it differs by access method.
- Any minimum outstanding balance, and how long it applies.
- The draw period and repayment period lengths.
- Any fee tied to inactivity or to small transactions.
Valuation is part of the same decision. Lines at or below $500,000 ordinarily run an automated valuation. A line above $500,000 is primary-residence only, requires a 700 credit profile or better (720 on the five-year-draw program), caps at 75% CLTV, and needs a full appraisal. A borrower can also request a full appraisal at any size.
Choosing Around a Floor
| Option | Draw behavior | Fits the investor who |
|---|---|---|
| Line with a required closing draw | Most funds out on day one | Has a project ready now |
| Line with a zero initial draw | Funds drawn as needed | Wants a standby line |
| Lump-sum loan | One payout at closing | Knows the full amount |
The honest answer for many investors is that a required closing draw makes sense only when the funds have a job to do immediately. If the money would sit idle, a line with a lower floor, or a different loan structure, may fit better. Cash-out refinance on a rental is the usual alternative, and Lendmire’s cash-out refinance guide shows how that path works.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the minimum advance amount the same as the minimum draw?
Usually yes. Minimum advance is the per-withdrawal floor after the line opens. Minimum draw is a looser phrase that can also mean the initial draw or the minimum outstanding balance, so check which one a lender means.
Can a HELOC lender require me to draw at closing?
Yes. The lender sets that term. On the lines Lendmire places, at least 75% of the line is drawn at closing. Some lenders in the broader market require no closing draw.
Does drawing less lower the payment I qualify on?
No. Qualifying uses the interest-only payment calculated on the maximum draw. The file is reviewed as if the full line were drawn.
Is there a standard minimum draw amount?
No. Each lender sets its own floor, and the agreement controls.
Does the floor change if my property is in Texas?
On the five-year-draw program, the later-draw minimum is $4,000 in Texas instead of $1,000. Texas primary residences also carry homestead rules, including a waiting period and a one-lien-at-a-time limit. Second homes and investment properties follow the non-homestead path.
Next Step
If you are considering a home equity line and want to see how the numbers work, Lendmire can help you compare HELOC options based on the property, the equity available, credit profile, combined leverage, and your goals. Equity lines are available only in Lendmire’s 16 full-service states, which is narrower than the 41-market DSCR footprint.
About Lendmire
Lendmire is a mortgage brokerage (NMLS# 2371349) arranging home equity lines of credit — primary-residence, second-home and investment-property lines — through a wholesale lending network in its 16 full-service states. Eligibility is determined by the lender on each file. Scotsman Guide named Lendmire a Top Mortgage Workplace in both 2025 and 2026.
Get Started
Ready to find the right loan for you?
In about two minutes you can review financing options available for your home or investment property. No commitment required.
Informational only. Not a Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. Program availability and eligibility are subject to lender guidelines, credit approval, property review, and underwriting.
References
1. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 12 CFR 1026.40
3. BiggerPockets: HELOC on investment properties
4. CBS News: things to know about HELOC minimum draw requirements
This article is part of Lendmire’s HELOC & home equity loan program — full qualification details, guidelines, and scenarios live on the program page.
Related reading: How a HELOC Lender Counts Your Income to Size the Line · Is a Long HELOC Draw Period Worth It on a Primary Home? · Home Equity Loan vs HELOC Budget Terms for Draw and Repayment
Brandon Miller
Founder & CEO, Mortgage Loan Originator, Lendmire LLC
- Mortgage Loan Originator · NMLS# 1129696 · Verify on NMLS Consumer Access
- North Carolina Real Estate Broker · License# 343312 · Verify on NCREC
- North Carolina Insurance Producer · License# 19053198 · Property, Casualty, Life, Health · Verify on NAIC SBS
- Lendmire LLC · Firm NMLS# 2371349 · Verify firm licensure
Disclosure information. Lendmire is a state-licensed mortgage brokerage under NMLS# 2371349. Lendmire is not a depository institution, direct lender, or financial advisor — all loans referenced are placed through wholesale lender partners and are subject to each lender's underwriting standards. This article is provided for general informational purposes and is not a commitment to lend, nor does it constitute financial, legal, or tax advice. Loan programs, terms, rates, and qualification standards change without notice and depend on borrower profile, property type, and the state in which the subject property is located. Equal Housing Opportunity provider. NMLS Consumer Access: nmlsconsumeraccess.org.