How a HELOC Funds Four Years of Tuition for a Parent Borrower

How a HELOC Funds Four Years of Tuition for a Parent Borrower

The Quick Read: A home equity line can cover a four-year degree, but the structure of the line matters more than its size. On the wholesale network Lendmire places files with, at least 75% of the line is funded at closing. That makes it a pre-funded tuition reserve, not a card you swipe each semester. The parent owes the debt, the home is the collateral, and the payment floats.

  • Ceiling by occupancy: an investment property tops out at 70% combined loan-to-value (CLTV, meaning all loans on the home as a share of its value), with a $500,000 line cap. Primary-residence lines can reach higher, but only at stronger credit tiers.
  • Draw length matters: a 3-year interest-only draw ends before senior year. A 5-year draw runs past graduation.
  • Pricing floats in both the draw and repayment phases and never converts to fixed.
  • Aid forms treat equity differently: primary-home equity is generally not reported on the federal aid form, but rental equity is.

How a HELOC Funds Four Years of Tuition, Semester by Semester

A home equity line of credit (HELOC) is a revolving loan secured by the property. You borrow against equity, which is the home’s value minus what you still owe on it. The lender approves a limit, and you pull money from it.

Editable Equity Scenario

How large a line the equity supports.

An equity line is sized by combined loan-to-value, occupancy, and credit — not by rental coverage. Switch the occupancy or the credit band and the ceiling moves with it.



70%Max combined LTV, this tier
$500K maxLine cap, this tier

Investment-property lines require a 700 minimum credit score; second-home lines start at a 640 minimum and primary-residence lines at 600, and the combined-LTV ceiling steps down as the credit band drops on primary-residence and second-home lines and holds on investment-property lines; the line cap steps down on primary-residence lines and holds at every tier on investment-property and second-home lines.

A debt-to-income ratio above 45% requires 680+ credit. Profiles under 640 are limited to single-family homes. At least 75% of the approved line is drawn at closing. Ceilings, floors, and caps update from Lendmire’s centralized guideline source.

Estimated available line
$65,000
Value at combined LTV, less the balance, capped at the program line for the selected occupancy and credit band.

Line estimate

$315,000Value at combined LTV
$250,000Less current balance
$542Interest-only payment
$500,000Line cap, this tier
700Credit floor, this occupancy
$135,000Equity remaining

Illustrative estimate only — not a quote, Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. The rate is an editable assumption; equity-line pricing is variable through both the draw and repayment periods and never converts to fixed. Occupancy and credit drive the ceiling together: an investment property tops out at 70% combined LTV (minimum credit 700, line cap $500,000); a second home tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 640, line cap $500,000), with the ceiling stepping down as the credit band drops (the cap holds at every tier); a primary residence tops out at 90% combined LTV (minimum credit 600), and its $750,000 maximum line is available only at 75% combined LTV or below with a 700-or-better credit profile (720 on the longer-runway program) and a full appraisal. Lines above $500,000 require a full appraisal. Credit, debt-to-income, property type, and full underwriting review all affect the final line.


The popular picture is a parent drawing a little each semester. That picture fits a classic line well. Forbes notes that as-needed draws suit college, because tuition tends to hold steady across four years while books, housing and supplies swing more.

The lines Lendmire places work a little differently. Across the wholesale network, at least 75% of the line is drawn at closing. Think of it as a funded tuition account, not a pay-as-you-go card.

Here is the sequence from start to finish:

1. Equity test. The lender applies a CLTV percentage to the home’s value and subtracts what is already owed. What remains is the room for a line.

2. Borrower test. Credit score and debt-to-income ratio (DTI, your monthly debt payments as a share of income) set the final limit.

3. Closing draw. At least 75% of the line is funded up front. Parents typically hold that cash in a bank account and pay each semester’s bill from it.

4. Interest-only phase. The payment covers interest on the drawn balance. Nothing goes toward principal.

5. Repayment phase. Draws stop. Principal joins the payment, so the payment steps up.

The network offers two draw structures on primary residences and second homes. Investment lines run only the 5-year structure.

Structure Interest-only draw Repayment Fit for a 4-year degree
3-year-draw program 3 years 17 years Draw ends before senior year
5-year-draw program 5 years 25 years Draw covers all four years

Subsequent draws after closing carry a $1,000 minimum on the 5-year-draw program. Programs change, and every file is underwritten individually.

How Much Line Can a Parent Qualify For?

Occupancy sets the ceiling, so name the property before you quote a number.

  • Investment property: 70% CLTV, a 700 minimum credit profile, and a $500,000 maximum line.
  • Second home: the ceiling reaches 90% CLTV, but only at a 720-or-better credit profile. Lines run up to $500,000 with a 640 minimum score.
  • Primary residence: 90% CLTV exists only at 720 or better, up to $500,000. Lower scores step the ceiling down to as little as 60% at a 600 score.

Run a modeled example in percentages. Say the existing mortgage equals 50% of the home’s value. At a 75% CLTV tier on a primary residence, the open room is 25% of value. At the 70% investment ceiling, it is 20% of value.

That is why the same house funds more tuition as a primary residence than as a rental. The calculator on this site can convert those percentages into dollars as an illustrative estimate.

A line above $500,000 is primary-residence only. It requires a credit profile of 700 or better (720 on the 5-year-draw program), caps at 75% CLTV, and needs a full appraisal. Lines at or below $500,000 ordinarily use an automated valuation instead.

Underwriting also tests the borrower. DTI tops out at 50%, and it drops to 45% for credit profiles from 600 to 679. The test uses the interest-only payment calculated as if the line were fully drawn. The lender prices the line at its worst case, not at the balance you actually carry.

Credit is pulled as a single-bureau score keyed to the primary wage earner. A parent with a shaky score can’t borrow against a spouse’s clean one.

All of this is subject to lender guidelines and full file review.

Does a Four-Year Degree Fit Inside the Draw Period?

It fits cleanly on the 5-year structure and awkwardly on the 3-year one. Four equal years of tuition with 75% drawn at closing means the first three years are funded on day one. The last 25% is drawn in senior year, and the minimum draw is $1,000.

On the 3-year structure, the draw period ends right as senior year begins. If you need money after that, the line may no longer allow it. Pull the final year’s money while draws are still open.

A fifth year adds another problem. If the student takes longer, the draw window may already be closed, and the payment has stepped up. Plan for a slower graduation, because it happens.

The CFPB HELOC brochure describes the same two-phase pattern. It also warns that variable-rate payments can change even when you draw nothing new. On the network’s lines, pricing floats in both phases and never converts to fixed. So budget for payment movement during all four years and well past graduation.

Interest-only does not mean the debt is shrinking. During the draw phase, the balance after graduation equals the balance you drew. Then amortization begins, and the monthly bill rises. Expect a payment step-up, not a smooth glide.

Idle cash also carries a cost. With most of the line funded at closing, you pay interest on money that sits in a bank account until the bursar’s deadline. Sizing the line closely to the real gap keeps that drag small.

Key Terms Defined

Draw period: the stretch when you can borrow from the line and pay interest only.

Repayment period: the later phase when the balance amortizes and the payment includes principal.

Interest-only payment: a payment that covers interest and none of the principal balance.

Lien position: where a loan ranks among claims on the property. The network’s lines can sit in first or second position.

Freeze or reduction: a lender’s right to stop further draws or cut the limit if the home’s value falls or your finances worsen.

Where the General Rule Breaks

The tidy four-year plan has several named exceptions.

Frozen or reduced lines. The same CFPB brochure says lenders can generally freeze or reduce a line when home values fall or the borrower’s finances worsen. A line that looked certain in year one can shrink in year three. With 75% drawn at closing, most of your money is already in hand, which softens this risk. The remaining 25% is the exposed part.

Title held in an LLC. An LLC, corporation, partnership, or irrevocable, blind or land trust cannot hold title on these lines. Only an individual or a revocable living trust can. A rental deeded to an LLC needs a vesting change first. Or use a DSCR cash-out refinance, which on standard rentals tops out around 75% LTV with about 6 months of seasoning, subject to lender guidelines.

Financial aid. Fastweb reports that primary-home equity is not counted on the federal aid form, while equity in a second home or rental is. It also says the CSS Profile, used by about 250 colleges, does count primary-home equity. Cash in a savings account counts as an asset, too. A fully funded tuition reserve is cash on paper. For an investor-parent with several rentals, the aid math can look worse than it does for a homeowner-only family.

Multiple children. A borrower is limited to three lines in total. Combined exposure caps at $2,000,000 on one wholesale program and $750,000 on the other. A borrower who owns more than 15 financed properties is not eligible. Parents with several kids and several rentals should map all of this before the first closing.

Ineligible properties. Manufactured homes, co-ops, condotels, log homes, commercial, mixed-use and agricultural-zoned properties are not eligible for these lines. Single-family, 2-4 unit, PUD, townhome and condominium properties are.

Credit history. A bankruptcy needs 4 years of seasoning from discharge or dismissal. A foreclosure history splits by program on primary residences. One program seasons it for 7 years, and the other declines it entirely.

Availability. Lendmire’s HELOC placements cover 16 full-service states. That is narrower than its DSCR investor footprint.

What the Investor-Parent Should Weigh

For a real estate investor, tuition equity is not free money. It competes with the next down payment.

Equity competition. Every dollar of equity pledged to tuition is a dollar that cannot fund a rental purchase. If the same home backs both goals, the line you take for school can shrink the line you would take for the next property.

DTI drag. A HELOC payment counts in your DTI. DSCR loans work differently. A DSCR loan (debt service coverage ratio loan) qualifies primarily on property-level rental income covering the payment, subject to lender guidelines. Personal debt matters less on the DSCR side, though credit score, reserves and leverage caps still apply.

Lendmire’s complete DSCR loans guide covers how that test works. A passing DSCR is not the same as positive cash flow. Repairs, vacancy, management and capital costs sit outside the calculation.

Lien stacking. A HELOC puts another lien on the property. If another part of your portfolio goes wrong, creditors can reach that home. Keep that in mind before pledging a rental.

Parent PLUS as the benchmark. The federal alternative is a Parent PLUS loan. Temple University lists the requirements. The parent must be in good standing on existing federal loans, and the student must have a completed aid form and be enrolled at least half-time. A credit check screens for adverse history. Arizona State University reports annual and lifetime caps for students who start borrowing after a 2026 cutoff, and it says fees come out of each disbursement. If those caps fall short of your four-year gap, a home equity line comes into the picture. Verify current limits with the Department of Education.

Parents who are self-employed and lack two years of returns may want Lendmire’s article Bank Statement HELOC vs Waiting for Two Years of Tax Returns.

Tax treatment can depend on how the funds are used and how the property is held; investors should keep clear records and speak with a qualified tax professional before relying on any deduction.

Here is the honest bottom line. A HELOC suits a parent with real equity, steady income, a clear payoff plan and a student on track to finish on time. It suits a parent with a thin cushion much less.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can the line also cover housing, books and fees?

Yes. Once the money is in your account, the lender does not restrict how you spend it. That flexibility is useful, but it means you need your own tracking. Pay the school directly from a dedicated account and keep records.

What happens if the student drops out or transfers?

The debt stays with the parent. There is no deferment tied to enrollment and no forgiveness based on graduation. If tuition costs less than planned, you can pay the extra back toward the balance. You carry interest on anything you drew in the meantime.

Does a HELOC affect financial aid?

Yes, it can. Primary-home equity is generally not reported on the federal aid form, but rental equity is. Cash from the line sitting in a bank account counts as an asset as well. Some schools using the CSS Profile also count primary-home equity.

Can I borrow on a rental owned through an LLC?

Not directly. These lines require title in an individual’s name or a revocable living trust. A property already deeded to an LLC needs a vesting change, or a DSCR cash-out refinance instead, subject to program terms.

What if my job changes mid-degree?

Your DTI was tested at application, but your payment keeps floating. Because the payment is qualified on the line as if fully drawn, a smaller balance gives you some cushion. Still, plan for payment movement and keep a reserve of several months of payments.

Next Step

If you are considering a home equity line and want to see how the numbers work, Lendmire can help you compare HELOC options based on the property, the equity available, credit profile, combined leverage, and your goals. Lendmire is a mortgage broker that arranges financing through select lenders in its wholesale network, with DSCR investor loans across 41 markets, including Washington, D.C.

Four years of tuition is a long runway, so the best plan is the one whose draw window outlasts the degree.

About Lendmire

As a mortgage broker (NMLS# 2371349), Lendmire helps homeowners and real estate investors in its 16 full-service states open home equity lines of credit arranged through wholesale lenders. Lendmire is never the lender; line amounts, ceilings and terms are set by the lender under its guidelines. Scotsman Guide named Lendmire a Top Mortgage Workplace in both 2025 and 2026.

Get Started

Ready to find the right loan for you?

In about 30 seconds you can review financing options available for your home or investment property. No commitment required.

Informational only. Not a Loan Estimate, approval, or commitment to lend. Program availability and eligibility are subject to lender guidelines, credit approval, property review, and underwriting.

References

1. Forbes, HELOC or student loans for college

2. CFPB HELOC brochure

3. Fastweb, home equity and financial aid

4. Temple University Student Financial Services, Parent PLUS

5. Arizona State University, Parent PLUS

Continue Exploring

This article is part of Lendmire’s home equity line of credit program — full qualification details, guidelines, and scenarios live on the program page.

Related reading: Should a Homeowner Use a HELOC to Build an ADU or Pool?  ·  HELOC vs Cash-Out Refinance for a Retiree on Pension Income  ·  How to Get a HELOC After a Quitclaim in a High-Cost Closing State

Reviewed By
Last reviewed: October 14, 2026

Founder & CEO, Mortgage Loan Originator, Lendmire LLC

Verified Credentials

Important disclosures. Lendmire (NMLS# 2371349) is a licensed mortgage brokerage. Lendmire is not a direct lender, depository institution, or financial advisor. All loan inquiries are subject to lender underwriting; this article does not constitute a commitment to lend. Rates, terms, and program guidelines are subject to change without notice and vary by borrower profile, property type, and state. Information in this article is general in nature and is not financial, legal, or tax advice. Equal Housing Opportunity. NMLS Consumer Access: nmlsconsumeraccess.org.

Get Started

What does this look like for your situation?

Get a personalized quote in about 30 seconds. No credit pull, no commitment.

Get My Quote